Re: fedora-list Digest, Vol 5, Issue 144

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

 



----- Original Message ----- 
From: <[email protected]>
To: <[email protected]>
Sent: Monday, July 12, 2004 6:52 AM
Subject: fedora-list Digest, Vol 5, Issue 144


> Send fedora-list mailing list submissions to
> [email protected]
>
> To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
> http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/fedora-list
> or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
> [email protected]
>
> You can reach the person managing the list at
> [email protected]
>
> When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
> than "Re: Contents of fedora-list digest..."
>
>
> Today's Topics:
>
>    1. Re: /proc/acpi/sleep (Jeff Vian)
>    2. Re: fc1 : Which mysql version? (Jeff Vian)
>    3. Re: Network connection problem (Mike Klinke)
>    4. SCSI disk names change when adding / removing devices.  (Naoki)
>    5. RE: Driver for D-link wireless network adapters (Ryan Krauss)
>    6. Re: Burning ISO images to CDs (Mike Chambers)
>    7. Re: SCSI disk names change when adding / removing devices.
>       (Jeff Vian)
>    8. Re: SCSI disk names change when adding / removing devices.
>       (Jeff Vian)
>    9. Re: Sound instability - HDW pb (Philippe)
>   10. Re: Update Problem (ppp-2.4.2-3.FC2.1) (Micheal)
>   11. Re: Vmware and samba (Wolfgang Gill)
>   12. Re: Static in speakers.... (Steven Stern)
>   13. Re: /proc/acpi/sleep (Globe Trotter)
>   14. Re: samba (Thornton)
>   15. Re: SCSI controller problems (Stewart Nelson)
>   16. Re: sound stopped working (david walcroft)
>   17. Re:  Getting Wireless Work in Fedora (vlad i.)
>   18. Re: SCSI controller problems (Jeff Vian)
>
>
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> Message: 1
> Date: Sun, 11 Jul 2004 21:41:56 -0500
> From: Jeff Vian <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re: /proc/acpi/sleep
> To: For users of Fedora Core releases <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain
>
> On Sun, 2004-07-11 at 20:18, Globe Trotter wrote:
> > Thats interesting, because I had specifically put in acpi-off in my
menu.lst.
> >
> > Should it be acpi=off? {acpi-off is what Satish had suggested and no one
seemed
> > to object?}
> >
>
> acpi=off
>
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 2
> Date: Sun, 11 Jul 2004 21:46:27 -0500
> From: Jeff Vian <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re: fc1 : Which mysql version?
> To: For users of Fedora Core releases <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain
>
> On Sun, 2004-07-11 at 20:46, William Hooper wrote:
> > Jeff Vian said:
> > [snip]
> > > HUH????   PHP is GPL.
> >
> > Someone forgot to the the PHP authors then.
> >
> > http://us3.php.net/license/3_0.txt
> >
> >
> > -- 
> > William Hooper
> >
> duh-oh!  Guess I did not search as well as I thought.
>
> In any case, the OP was asking about something that was beaten to death
> several months ago.  The archives are full of the discussion on mysql
> and the licensing issue.
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 3
> Date: Sun, 11 Jul 2004 21:51:55 -0500
> From: Mike Klinke <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re: Network connection problem
> To: For users of Fedora Core releases <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain;  charset="iso-8859-1"
>
> On Sunday 11 July 2004 18:52, Peter Greenwood wrote:
> > [email protected] said:
> > >  Is the AAAA query an IPV6 query?
> >
> > So it says here: RFC 1933 section 3.2.
>
>
> That was my best guess, but, then why would one of your first two DNS
> requests be an IPV6 query if you turned IPV6 off?  I'm not up to
> speed on the IPV6 subsystem but to me it just seems odd.
>
> Regards,  Mike Klinke
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 4
> Date: Mon, 12 Jul 2004 11:56:11 +0900
> From: Naoki <[email protected]>
> Subject: SCSI disk names change when adding / removing devices.
> To: For users of Fedora Core releases <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8; format=flowed
>
> Hi all,
>
>     I have a problem, when I install my OS ( FC2 ) on my nice machine
> with an internal scsi controller my two disks are sda and sdb, which is
> all nice and expected.  But then when I add a new scsi card and hook up
> the external disk array the new array now becomes sda which has a very
> negative effect, can't boot..
>
> Any helpful hints?  I could label the disks sure but then swap is still
> on sda2 and that's a problem.
>
> -n.
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 5
> Date: Sun, 11 Jul 2004 21:05:54 -0600
> From: "Ryan Krauss" <[email protected]>
> Subject: RE: Driver for D-link wireless network adapters
> To: "'For users of Fedora Core releases'" <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
>
> I would try e-mailing d-link tech support.  They were quick to e-mail me
> back with a list of driver sources.
>
> This page also chipsets to help identify Ethernet cards:
> http://www.linux-wlan.org/docs/wlan_adapters.html.gz
> It does list the DWL-610 as having a Realtek chip, so I have no advice
> on that driver.
>
> Ryan
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: [email protected]
> [mailto:[email protected]] On Behalf Of Karol Pluciennik
> Sent: Sunday, July 11, 2004 4:37 PM
> To: For users of Fedora Core releases
> Subject: Re: Driver for D-link wireless network adapters
>
> Ryan Krauss wrote:
> > Please visit http://support.dlink.com/faq/view.asp?prod_id=357 for
> Linux
> > drivers.
>
> Yes ... what if I have D-Link DWL-610? It's available in Europe only. I
> can't find it here and now I have no idea where to start. If it helps I
> used RTL8180L driver from Realtek but only under kernel 2.4.20 :(
>
> > If you have an atheros based card, feel free to e-mail me if you want
> > more info on what I did to get mine working.
>
> Yes, sorry for posting my problem in several threads but I was away for
> a while and I couldn't write posts :(.
>
> -- 
> Regards, TroLoo
>
>
> -- 
> fedora-list mailing list
> [email protected]
> To unsubscribe: http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/fedora-list
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 6
> Date: Sun, 11 Jul 2004 22:06:56 -0500
> From: Mike Chambers <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re: Burning ISO images to CDs
> To: Fedora <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain
>
> On Sun, 2004-07-11 at 20:58 -0400, DENNIS TURNER wrote:
> > I've downloaded the images for FC2, and the first installation CD I
> > burned works ok, but the second repeatedly generates the notice that
> > there is no disc checksum on the CD.  I used a Windows-based
> > application (Roxio CD Creator) to burn the CDs, and am at a loss as to
> > why the first CD works, but the second fails.  Any suggestions on
> > where I've gone wrong?
>
> Check yours discs and/or iso images.  Maybe one and/or both are bad?
>
> -- 
> Mike Chambers
> Madisonville, KY
>
> "It's always better to hurt a little now, than to hurt a lot later!"
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 7
> Date: Sun, 11 Jul 2004 22:26:09 -0500
> From: Jeff Vian <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re: SCSI disk names change when adding / removing devices.
> To: For users of Fedora Core releases <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain
>
> On Sun, 2004-07-11 at 21:56, Naoki wrote:
> > Hi all,
> >
> >     I have a problem, when I install my OS ( FC2 ) on my nice machine
> > with an internal scsi controller my two disks are sda and sdb, which is
> > all nice and expected.  But then when I add a new scsi card and hook up
> > the external disk array the new array now becomes sda which has a very
> > negative effect, can't boot..
> >
> > Any helpful hints?  I could label the disks sure but then swap is still
> > on sda2 and that's a problem.
> >
>
> The order of the scsi adapters being configured at boot time causes
> that.... first adapter --> first device ==> sda.  AFAIK the easiest way
> to fix that is to swap the positions on the mobo so the original adapter
> is seen first.
>
> BTW, by the time you labeled the partitions you could also change fstab
> for swap as well as the filesystem partitions.  The real problem I would
> see is the location of the grub boot image.
>
> HTH
> Jeff
>
>
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 8
> Date: Sun, 11 Jul 2004 22:32:45 -0500
> From: Jeff Vian <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re: SCSI disk names change when adding / removing devices.
> To: For users of Fedora Core releases <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain
>
> On Sun, 2004-07-11 at 21:56, Naoki wrote:
> > Hi all,
> >
> >     I have a problem, when I install my OS ( FC2 ) on my nice machine
> > with an internal scsi controller my two disks are sda and sdb, which is
> > all nice and expected.  But then when I add a new scsi card and hook up
> > the external disk array the new array now becomes sda which has a very
> > negative effect, can't boot..
> >
> > Any helpful hints?  I could label the disks sure but then swap is still
> > on sda2 and that's a problem.
> >
> > -n.
> >
>
> BTW,  For your planning for future use of scsi..  AFAICT, scsi devices
> are named in the order seen.  It is thus necessary to know which adapter
> will be seen first, as well as the scsi ID of the drives.
>
> On the bus of a single adapter, drives are named in ID sequence.  If you
> have a drive with id 5 and another with id 9, the first will be sda and
> the second will be sdb.  If you add one at id 8, it becomes sdb and the
> one at id 9 is now sdc.  If you then add one at id 0, all the ones with
> higher ids are bumped to different names.
>
> Thus for simplicity you should fill the scsi ids starting at 0 and going
> sequentially so you do not have unexpected problems of this sort.
>
> Then you also have to know which pci slots are probed first so you do
> not have the problems you just saw.
>
> It is easy once understood, but can be puzzling for the uninitiated.
>
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 9
> Date: Mon, 12 Jul 2004 10:38:59 +0700
> From: Philippe <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re: Sound instability - HDW pb
> To: For users of Fedora Core releases <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain
>
> On Mon, 2004-07-12 at 00:17, Philippe wrote:
> > On Mon, 2004-07-12 at 00:00, netmask wrote:
> > > > Where does this instability come from ? Do I have to think that a
reboot
> > > > should fix the problem, as I used to think on another OS before ;-).
Or
> > > > do I have a hardware problem ? But anytime I boot in RH9, I always
have
> > > > sound ...
> Simple test .. I just unplugged my speakers and put my headphones ...
> stupid test, but this is working now ! I think I have a intermittent pb
> with the jack of my speakers.
>
> Philippe
> -- 
> Philippe, Chiangmai, Thailand
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 10
> Date: Sun, 11 Jul 2004 22:46:14 -0500
> From: Micheal <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re: Update Problem (ppp-2.4.2-3.FC2.1)
> To: For users of Fedora Core releases <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
>
> On Sun, 2004-07-11 at 20:53, Barry Yu wrote:
> > Patrick Boutilier wrote:
> >
> > >å¤?æ-O wrote:
> > >
> > >
> > >>Hi all,
> > >>
> > >>I received this error message below when running yum(or rpm) to apply
> > >>the newest ppp-2.4.2-3.FC2.1 update:
> > >>
> > >>"pppd < 2.3.9 conflict with Initscripts-7.53-1"
> > >>
>  <snip, snip>
> > This is a bug, had been asked at least more than 20 times in 2 days
> > since this ppp appeared in the up2date repository. I guess just have to
> > wait until it is fixed and put into the repository, if any other updates
> > avilalbe, you can use the method as below;
> > "Same answer I'm giving to everyone else: It's a know bug. Has been
> > fixed and a fix is in CVS. Meanwhile , use yum --exclude=initscripts
> > --exclude=ppp --exclude=pppd upgrade to update your system , while the
> > corrected package isnt available. -- Pedro Macedo"
> > -- 
> >
>
> Or another alternative, point your yum/up2date to the
> development/rawhide repos by editing the appropriate config file and
> update ppp ONLY. Then remove the development/rawhide repo from yum.conf
> or /etc/sysconfig/rhn/sources
>
> Worked for me.  Though I do not have dial-up.
>
> Micheal
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 11
> Date: Mon, 12 Jul 2004 13:52:34 +1000
> From: "Wolfgang Gill" <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re: Vmware and samba
> To: For users of Fedora Core releases <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=iso-8859-1
>
> On Mon, 12 Jul 2004 02:11:16 +0200, Raúl Moratalla wrote
> > Hi!
> >
> > I have tried to configure samba with vmware for share files between
> > Linux and my virtual machine (windows me) but I can't see in my
> > virtual machine the directory that I share in Linux. I read some
> > documentation about samba, I modified the file
> > /etc/vmware/vmnet1/smb.conf and I added a network connection in
> > Windows Me but I am a newbie with networks and I can't get it
> > working :(
> >
> > I will very pleased if anyone could explain to me all the steps that
> > I need for sharing files between Linux and vmware.
> >
> > Regards,
> >
> > Raul
>
> Temporarly turn off your Firewall and see how that goes. I've had similar
> problems with Samba, in that I could see the share (I use Linneighborhood
to
> do this, in KDE), but I couldn't mount it. Turning off the firewall then
> allowed me to mount the share. I still have not found out which port is
being
> blocked, but when I do I'll need to add it to the firewall script. (That's
if
> anyone else knows which port has been added to Samba that the standard
> firewall rules don't know about.)
>
> Wolf
> --
> Open WebMail Project (http://openwebmail.org)
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 12
> Date: Sun, 11 Jul 2004 23:01:36 -0500
> From: Steven Stern <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re: Static in speakers....
> To: For users of Fedora Core releases <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
>
> On Sun, 11 Jul 2004 20:28:21 -0500, Andrew Konosky
<[email protected]>
> wrote:
>
> >I have a Logitech speaker system and am using the onboard sound on my
> >Giga-byte GA-7DX motherboard (Creatve CT5880 SoundBlaster PCI 128), so I
> >don't have anything real fancy, but I never had any static under
> >Windows. When the speaker system is powered on, I can hear a hiss coming
> >from it. When I play music, it isn't noticeable until I turn the volume
> >up high. I'm guessing its a driver issue or something. Any suggestions
> >on how to get rid of it?
>
> This has been discussed before. The usual solution is to open up the
volume
> control app and disable inputs until the static goes away. It's usually
one
> that refers to something you don't have. :-)
> --
>    Steve
>
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 13
> Date: Sun, 11 Jul 2004 21:13:24 -0700 (PDT)
> From: Globe Trotter <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re: /proc/acpi/sleep
> To: For users of Fedora Core releases <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
>
> --- Jeff Vian <[email protected]> wrote:
> > On Sun, 2004-07-11 at 20:18, Globe Trotter wrote:
> > > Thats interesting, because I had specifically put in acpi-off in my
> > menu.lst.
> > >
> > > Should it be acpi=off? {acpi-off is what Satish had suggested and no
one
> > seemed
> > > to object?}
> > >
> >
> > acpi=off
>
> Thanks! This is the story -- it works fine now!!
>
> Thanks again, everyone!!
>
> Best wishes!!!
>
>
> >
> >
> >
> > -- 
> > fedora-list mailing list
> > [email protected]
> > To unsubscribe: http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/fedora-list
> >
>
>
>
>
>
> __________________________________
> Do you Yahoo!?
> New and Improved Yahoo! Mail - 100MB free storage!
> http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 14
> Date: Sun, 11 Jul 2004 21:45:33 -0700
> From: Thornton <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re: samba
> To: For users of Fedora Core releases <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain
>
> that did it. i will have to tweak my firewall some
>
> thanks
>
> On Fri, 2004-07-09 at 23:47, SoftCell wrote:
> > i had the same problem, you might want to look at your firewall and
> > try to disable it then you'll see the shares
> >
> > On Fri, 09 Jul 2004 23:30:34 -0700, Thornton <[email protected]>
wrote:
> > > Is there any trick to getting samba working on core 2?
> > >
> > > I type smb//server/share and i get login info. type it in then i get
> > > something that says share doesnt exsist
> > >
> > > i know it is a correct share
> > >
> > > what am i doing wrong?
> > >
> > > thanks
> > >
> > >
> > > --
> > > fedora-list mailing list
> > > [email protected]
> > > To unsubscribe: http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/fedora-list
> > >
> >
> >
> > -- 
> > - Jake
> >
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 15
> Date: Sun, 11 Jul 2004 21:49:09 -0700
> From: "Stewart Nelson" <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re: SCSI controller problems
> To: <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="Windows-1252"
>
> Hi Jeff,
>
> Thanks for the quick reply.
>
> >> sym53c8xx: at PCI bus 3, device 12, function 0
> >> sym53c8xx: setting PCI_COMMAND_PARITY...(fix-up)
> >> sym53c8xx: 53c875 detected with Symbios NVRAM
> >> sym53c875-0: rev 0x26 on pci bus 3 device 12 function 0 irq 5
> >> sym53c875-0: Symbios format NVRAM, ID 7, Fast-20, Parity Checking
> >> sym53c875-0: on-chip RAM at 0xfeafd000
> >> sym53c875-0: restart (scsi reset).
> >> sym53c875-0: Downloading SCSI SCRIPTS.
> >> scsi1 : sym53c8xx-1.7.3c-20010512
> >> blk: queue dc299c18, I/O limit 4095Mb (mask 0xffffffff)
> >>   Vendor: SONY      Model: SDT-7000          Rev: T306
> >>   Type:   Sequential-Access                  ANSI SCSI revision: 02
> >> blk: queue dc299a18, I/O limit 4095Mb (mask 0xffffffff)
> >> Attached scsi CD-ROM sr0 at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0
> >> sr0: scsi3-mmc drive: 32x/32x writer dvd-ram cd/rw xa/form2 cdda tray
> >> st: Version 20030406, bufsize 32768, max init. bufs 4, s/g segs 16
> >> Attached scsi tape st0 at scsi1, channel 0, id 0, lun 0
> >> sym53c875-0-<0,*>: FAST-10 SCSI 10.0 MB/s (100.0 ns, offset 15)
> >> sym53c875-0: detaching ...
> >> sym53c875-0: resetting chip
> >> scsi : 1 host left.
>
> > Have you checked the scsi ID on both devices??  If they are the same it
> > WILL NOT work.
>
> I realize that, but am still in the early stages of testing,
> and only physically connect one device at a time (shutting down and
> powering off, before moving the cable to the other device).
>
> In the example above, the DAT was connected to the SCSI bus,
> and the DVD-RAM connected via IDE.  Fedora allocated scsi0 to
> the 'SCSI host adapter emulation for IDE ATAPI devices' and
> scsi1 to the 53c875 hardware controller.  The DVD-RAM is on
> (virtual) ID 0 of scsi0 and the DAT is on ID 0 of scsi1, so there
> should not be a conflict.
>
> I tried not connecting anything to the secondary IDE port;
> scsi0 is still assigned to emulation (with no devices),
> and the tape on scsi1 still does not work.  Also tried the
> tape on ID 1, to no avail.
>
> I discovered that the problem is related to the 'detaching ...'
> that occurs.  If I manually modprobe the adapter, the
> device gets attached again and it is accessible :)
> Unfortunately, this is not a complete workaround, because
> e.g. running Hardware Browser causes it to get detached
> again.
>
> Any ideas on why the detach occurs?
>
> Thanks,
>
> Stewart
>
>
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 16
> Date: Mon, 12 Jul 2004 15:27:06 +1000
> From: david walcroft <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re: sound stopped working
> To: For users of Fedora Core releases <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii; format=flowed
>
> Dick Brown wrote:
> > Hi all,
> >    I'm quite a newbie, so please bear with me.    I don't use sound too
> > much, so I'm not sure when this happened, but my sound stopped working.
> > I'm using KDE 3.1.4-5, with FC1, although I don't get any sound with
> > Gnome, either.  I have found that other users are getting sound,
> > however.  I've gone into the KDE control center and turned on all
> > messages.  Now, when I log in, I get the following message:
> >
> > Sound server warning message:
> > Can't set real-time scheduling priority.
> > You need to run artswrapper as root or
> > setuid root. This means that you will
> > likely not be able to produce acceptable
> > sound (i.e. without clicks and breaks)
> >
> > I've run 'ps -A' and can't find artswrapper running at all.  I've also
> > googled for a solution, but all I've found so far are lots of others
> > with sound problems.
> >
> > Recent modifications (I don't know if these were before or after the
> > sound problems) include:
> > java installation
> > normal up2date updates
> >
> > Thanks for any help,
> > Dick
> >
> >
> Try this:
> ls -l /usr/bin/artswrapper = -rwxr-xr-x  1 root root 5700 Oct 23  2003 /
>
> As root # chmod 6755 /usr/bin/artswrapper
> gives artswrapper setuid root and should cure your artsd.
>
>    david
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 17
> Date: 12 Jul 2004 05:31:06 -0000
> From: "vlad i." <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re:  Getting Wireless Work in Fedora
> To: "[email protected]" <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
>
> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> URL: /archives/fedora-list/attachments/20040712/d575fb8a/attachment.htm
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 18
> Date: Mon, 12 Jul 2004 00:52:15 -0500
> From: Jeff Vian <[email protected]>
> Subject: Re: SCSI controller problems
> To: For users of Fedora Core releases <[email protected]>
> Message-ID: <[email protected]>
> Content-Type: text/plain
>
> On Sun, 2004-07-11 at 23:49, Stewart Nelson wrote:
> > Hi Jeff,
> >
> > Thanks for the quick reply.
> >
> > >> sym53c8xx: at PCI bus 3, device 12, function 0
> > >> sym53c8xx: setting PCI_COMMAND_PARITY...(fix-up)
> > >> sym53c8xx: 53c875 detected with Symbios NVRAM
> > >> sym53c875-0: rev 0x26 on pci bus 3 device 12 function 0 irq 5
> > >> sym53c875-0: Symbios format NVRAM, ID 7, Fast-20, Parity Checking
> > >> sym53c875-0: on-chip RAM at 0xfeafd000
> > >> sym53c875-0: restart (scsi reset).
> > >> sym53c875-0: Downloading SCSI SCRIPTS.
> > >> scsi1 : sym53c8xx-1.7.3c-20010512
> > >> blk: queue dc299c18, I/O limit 4095Mb (mask 0xffffffff)
> > >>   Vendor: SONY      Model: SDT-7000          Rev: T306
> > >>   Type:   Sequential-Access                  ANSI SCSI revision: 02
> > >> blk: queue dc299a18, I/O limit 4095Mb (mask 0xffffffff)
> > >> Attached scsi CD-ROM sr0 at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0
> > >> sr0: scsi3-mmc drive: 32x/32x writer dvd-ram cd/rw xa/form2 cdda tray
> > >> st: Version 20030406, bufsize 32768, max init. bufs 4, s/g segs 16
> > >> Attached scsi tape st0 at scsi1, channel 0, id 0, lun 0
> > >> sym53c875-0-<0,*>: FAST-10 SCSI 10.0 MB/s (100.0 ns, offset 15)
> > >> sym53c875-0: detaching ...
> > >> sym53c875-0: resetting chip
> > >> scsi : 1 host left.
> >
> > > Have you checked the scsi ID on both devices??  If they are the same
it
> > > WILL NOT work.
> >
> > I realize that, but am still in the early stages of testing,
> > and only physically connect one device at a time (shutting down and
> > powering off, before moving the cable to the other device).
> >
> > In the example above, the DAT was connected to the SCSI bus,
> > and the DVD-RAM connected via IDE.  Fedora allocated scsi0 to
> > the 'SCSI host adapter emulation for IDE ATAPI devices' and
> > scsi1 to the 53c875 hardware controller.  The DVD-RAM is on
> > (virtual) ID 0 of scsi0 and the DAT is on ID 0 of scsi1, so there
> > should not be a conflict.
> >
> > I tried not connecting anything to the secondary IDE port;
> > scsi0 is still assigned to emulation (with no devices),
> > and the tape on scsi1 still does not work.  Also tried the
> > tape on ID 1, to no avail.
> >
> > I discovered that the problem is related to the 'detaching ...'
> > that occurs.  If I manually modprobe the adapter, the
> > device gets attached again and it is accessible :)
> > Unfortunately, this is not a complete workaround, because
> > e.g. running Hardware Browser causes it to get detached
> > again.
> >
> > Any ideas on why the detach occurs?
> >
> > Thanks,
> >
> > Stewart
> >
>
> I missed the fact this shows as 2 scsi adapters. :-(
>
> Possibly termination causing the disconnect?
>
> In general, scsi buses must be terminated at both ends.  With only one
> device attached on the cable (other than the adapter) it should be
> terminated either at the end of the cable or at the device (which should
> be at the end of the cable if no termination is there).
>
> I found that with only one drive (a Maxtor ultra 160  that cannot be
> self-terminated) that I can get by without terminating the drive but it
> is the only device on the cable. (there is some penalty in performance,
> and the adapter is only scsi FW.)  However, if there is a second device
> attached nothing works until I add a terminator.  I had to order a cable
> with termination on the cable since the drive cannot provide the
> termination for this.
>
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> --
> fedora-list mailing list
> [email protected]
> http://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/fedora-list
>
>
> End of fedora-list Digest, Vol 5, Issue 144
> *******************************************
>




[Index of Archives]     [Current Fedora Users]     [Fedora Desktop]     [Fedora SELinux]     [Yosemite News]     [Yosemite Photos]     [KDE Users]     [Fedora Tools]     [Fedora Docs]
  Powered by Linux