[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

 



Mike - EMAIL IGNORED wrote:
On Mon, 12 Mar 2007 14:50:32 -0400, Tony Nelson wrote:

At 12:17 PM -0500 3/12/07, Mike - EMAIL IGNORED wrote:
I am having a problem updating my timezone data.
Here is an example.

# rpm -q tzdata
tzdata-2005m-1.fc4
# rpm -U --allfiles --force tzdata-2006g-1.fc4.src.rpm
# rpm -q tzdata
tzdata-2005m-1.fc4

And the files in /usr/share/zoneinfo/America/
are unchanged.

Thanks for your help.
Well, naturally.  You "installed" a source RPM, so it doesn't affect the
binary RPM at all.

Are you sure you need to update the tzdata?  I'd have thought that a 2005
tzdata would be fine for the US DST issue.  What do these report?

    /usr/sbin/zdump -v America/New_York | grep 2007
    /usr/sbin/zdump -v /etc/localtime | grep 2007
--
[...]

# /usr/sbin/zdump -v America/New_York | grep 2007
America/New_York  Sun Mar 11 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
America/New_York  Sun Mar 11 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
America/New_York  Sun Nov  4 05:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:59:59 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
America/New_York  Sun Nov  4 06:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:00:00 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

# /usr/sbin/zdump -v /etc/localtime | grep 2007
/etc/localtime  Sun Apr  1 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Apr  1 01:59:59 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/etc/localtime  Sun Apr  1 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Apr  1 03:00:00 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Oct 28 05:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:59:59 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime  Sun Oct 28 06:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:00:00 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

Odd that one looks correct, and the other looks
incorrect.  What do you advise?

Thanks,
Mike.


No, it's not really odd, since it's /etc/localtime that is used by the system. I generally just symlink /etc/localtime to the right timezone (/usr/share/zoneinfo in FC?) and it should be fine.


--
Mark Haney
Sr. Systems Administrator	
ERC Broadband



[Index of Archives]     [Current Fedora Users]     [Fedora Desktop]     [Fedora SELinux]     [Yosemite News]     [Yosemite Photos]     [KDE Users]     [Fedora Tools]     [Fedora Docs]
  Powered by Linux